HR PEO Blog

Minimum Wage

Thursday, 02 November 2017 13:22

Increase to the Colorado State Minimum Wage for 2018

Written by

The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment has released the proposed changes to the state minimum wage for 2018.  The proposed changes align with the changes voted into the state constitution as Amendment 70 last year.  Effective January 1st, 2018 the minimum wage will increase to $10.20 per hour and will continue to increase by $0.90 per year until it reaches $12.00 per hour in the year 2020. Thereafter the minimum wage will be adjusted annually based off the Consumer Price Index for Colorado.

 

The maximum amount an employer may offset minimum wage by for tipped employees remains the same at $3.02 per hour. Because the tip credit has not changed, the Tipped Employee Minimum Wage has increased to $7.18 per hour.

 

Also, as a reminder, the employee is entitled to CO state minimum wage if either of the two situations apply: 1) the employee is covered under the Colorado Wage Order, or 2) the employee is covered under federal minimum wage provisions through the FLSA.

 

The Consumer Price Index for Denver Boulder Greeley has increased by 1.0%, which means a new minimum wage rate for 2016. The minimum wage rule enacted in 2006 to the Colorado Constitution requires the state's minimum wage rate to be adjusted each year for inflation. The inflation adjustment is based on the US Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) for the Denver-Boulder-Greeley combined area. This adjustment is based on the difference between the CPI-U from the first half of the prior year and the first half of the current year. This adjustment will increase the 2016 minimum wage rate to an estimated $8.31 per hour, effective January 1, 2016. But remember, this doesn't just affect the minimum wage in Denver, this is across Colorado.  You'll also want to update your minimum wage posters.

 

The Consumer Price Index for Denver Boulder Greeley has increased by 2.9%, which means a new minimum wage rate for 2015. The minimum wage rule enacted in 2006 to the Colorado Constitution requires the state's minimum wage rate to be adjusted each year for inflation. The inflation adjustment is based on the US Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) for the Denver-Boulder-Greeley combined area. This adjustment is based on the difference between the CPI-U from the first half of the prior year and the first half of the current year. This adjustment will increase the 2015 minimum wage rate to an estimated $8.23 per hour, effective January 1, 2015. 

The above quoted rate increase is an estimate based off of the CPI change. The state should officially announce the rate increase sometime late November or early December. StaffScapes will keep you updated once the state announces any additional details.

 

Tuesday, 04 November 2008 17:00

Minimum Wage increase in nine States

Written by

Inflation adjusted minimum wage rate to increase in nine states on January 1, 2009.

Over the past few years states have moved to have statutory requirements that the minimum wage is to be indexed to that state inflation rate.  One of the most recent state to enact this law is Colorado who's minimum wage rate will go from $7.02 to $7.28 in 2009.

The nine states are:

Arizona

Colorado

Florida

Missouri

Montana

Ohio

Vermont

Washington

Monday, 29 September 2008 18:00

New Minimum Wage Rate for Colorado in 2009

Written by

The Colorado Department of Labor just announced the new minimum wage rate for 2009.

The minimum wage rule enacted in 2006 to the Colorado Constitution requires the state's minimum wage rate to be adjusted each year for inflation. The inflation adjustment is based on the US Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) for the Denver-Boulder-Greeley combined area. This adjustment is based on the difference between the CPI-U from the first half of the prior year and the first half of the current year. The CPI-U increased 3.7% from the first half of 2007 compared to the first half of 2008.  This adjustment will increase the 2009 minimum wage rate to $7.28 per hour, effective January 1, 2009.  The Tip credit for 2009 has not changed so the minimum wage rate for "Tipped Employees" will be $4.26 ($7.28 - $3.02).

For More information please go to the Colorado Department of Labor's home page at: www.coworkforce.com.

Page 1 of 2